Craft Quote #4 – Good Writers Read [All] Books

william-faulkner-craft-quote-drunk-off-rhetoric
Photo: jennyhallart.com

Read, read, read. Read everything – trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it. Then write. If it’s good you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.

– William Faulkner

Almost every writer can be quoted as saying something similar, but it does not quite hit home until a Nobel Prize winning novelist, short story author, and most influential American writer of the twentieth century marks it as good advice (especially for us aspiring writers). Read often, read outside of your comfort zone, read the unexpected.

What are you reading? What are the most influential books you’ve read? Who are some of your go-to authors for inspiration or just a good old lit fix?

6 thoughts on “Craft Quote #4 – Good Writers Read [All] Books

  1. I kind of agree with indiscriminate reading. I used to like the way the local library was random in the way books were organised – I accidentally found some real gems that I would never have read otherwise. The internet is a little too knowing usually…..although occasionally makes some random links…or helps you to find a great quotation…like your post in fact!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked this one 🙂 My local library is laid out the same way too, which I used to find inconvenient when looking for specific books but you’re right, it allows for finding more unexpected gems. Even though I like to think I read everything I can get my hands on, I’m sure there’s genres I haven’t touched.

      Liked by 1 person

Join (or start) the discussion

